February Issue

Current Issue
March 2018

NH debates school choice, revitalizing Rochester, the 2018 HR Guide and more. Purchase your copy or subscribe to BNH today.


Made in NH Expo
April 6 - 8, 2018
More Events >>

Newsletter Signup

Sign up for email updates for when the new magazine comes out.



The Buzz Online
Published Monday, November 27, 2017

(From left to right: Bernie Carbo, Oil Can Boyd, Tony Perez, Dave McCarthy (Ted Williams Museum), Bob Stanley, Luis Tiant, Rich Gedman and Rico Petrocelli.)

In the spotlight: The New Hampshire Fisher Cats recently announced that the proceeds generated from the 2017 Granite State Baseball Dinner eclipsed $100,000 for the ninth year. The event which took place on Nov. 18 was presented by Northeast Delta Dental. The large amount was raised through sponsorship donations, ticket sales, silent and live auctions, and raffle ticket sales. The money will benefit the Children’s Hospital at Dartmouth-Hitchcock (CHaD), the Ted Williams Foundation, and the Fisher Cats Foundation. 


Cirtronics, a Milford contract manufacturer recently gifted the YMCA of Greater Nashua with $5,000 toward the organization’s annual support campaign. When Cirtronics staff team presented the donation to the Y, they also toured the branch and learned more about the organization’s impact on Greater Nashua.  


The Lincoln Financial Foundation awarded nine local non-profit organizations with almost $130,000 in education grants. The grant money was a portion of almost $500,000 that was specifically allocated for the Granite State, this year. The organizations that received some of the funding were the Aviation Museum of New Hampshire, Boys & Girls Clubs of Central New Hampshire, Campus Compact for New Hampshire, Children’s Museum of New Hampshire, Circle Program, City Year New Hampshire, Concord Family YMCA, Granite YMCA, and Mayhew Program.


Senator Jeanne Shaheen and Senator Maggie Hassan recently announced that Lebanon, Farmington, and Laconia Police Departments will receive $500,000 in federal funding. The funds will be allocated for hiring additional police officers and investing in community policing efforts. The COPS Hiring Program (CHP), which is managed by the Department of Justice (DOJ) awarded the funding.  


Steven Hoyt of Purity Spring Resort was named Innkeeper of the Year by The New Hampshire Lodging and Restaurant Association (NHLRA). Hoyt was honored at the NHLRA’s annual Stars of the Industry Awards ceremony, which as held in Concord, early November. The event recognizes individuals who have achieved significant growth in their businesses, supported the industry and its issues on national, state, or local levels, and embody the spirit of hospitality.  


The board of directors of the Community Development Finance Authority (CDFA) recently announced that Katherine Easterly Martey is the new executive director of . “CDFA has the opportunity to continue to positively impact New Hampshire communities, build public-private partnerships and provide increased access to economic opportunities for individuals and small businesses,” says Martey. “I look forward to bringing my passion for this work to the Executive Director position and collaborating with our partners across the state to accomplish these goals.”


Holy Rosary Credit Union (HRCU) recently announced the promotion of long-time employee Rosemary Shields as the new executive vice president and chief operating officer. Since 2013, Shields has served as COO for the credit union, and she will continue to oversee operations, IT, and finance services and compliance at HRCU.


The Children’s Museum of New Hampshire recently received a $12,000 grant from the Lincoln Financial Foundation. The grant will support the Dover museum’s curriculum enhancement initiative, which will allow the museum to offer free school trips, more Focused Group Visits (FGV), and Traveling Focused Group Visits (TFGV).


The Community Volunteer Transportation Company (CVTC) recently announced their 2018 board of directors. The following were elected as officers: Eileen Fernandes of Keene as Chair; Kathryn Miner of Harrisville as Vice Chair; Jordan Volikas of Keene as Treasurer; and Matt Waitkins of Peterborough as Secretary. Other members of the Board are Sheila Mahon of Hancock and Jen Seher of Keene. In addition to announcing new elected officers, CVTC also announced the departure of two long-time board members, Sam Lafortune and Pamela Gleeson.


Richard “Rick” Burgess recently joined Meredith Village Savings Bank (MVSB) as vice president, commercial loan officer. Burgess is based out of MVSB’s Seneca Ladd Building in Meredith, where he offers guidance and assistance to local businesses with lending and various banking needs.


Dr. Dori Lang Columbus, a Hudson dentist recently announced her acquisition of Dental Expressions in Weirs Beach. The practice was previously operated by Dr. Darren Boles, and was started in 2004.


Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories